Who we are

The Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham includes some 307 churches, which are grouped into 9 deaneries – or administration areas. We have 176 clergy and about 16,900 members on electoral rolls of our churches.

The Bishop of Southwell & Nottingham is the diocesan bishop and has overall pastoral responsibility for the clergy and parishes of this diocese, which is one of 44 dioceses in the Church of England.

Support for church members and our clergy comes through our bishops, archdeacons, chief executive and staff within five main departments which are all based at a mission centre in Southwell, Nottinghamshire.