Schools and Academies

In the Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham we have 73 church schools and academies; 65 in the primary phase and 8 in the secondary phase.

List of our Schools and Academies

For a list of our schools and academies please click here.  To view a map showing the spread and location of schools in the diocese please Click here

The Board of Education oversees these schools on behalf of the Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham.

 Guided by the Diocesan Vision of Growing Disciples Wider Younger Deeper,  the Central Church of England Vision Statement “Deeply Christian Serving the Common Good”.  The DBE aims to provide schools which educate for:

  • Wisdom, Knowledge & Skills:  Providing a curriculum and experiences that secure transformational  outcomes for children and young people by combining academic rigour with a focus on profound personal development.
  • Hope & Aspiration: Welcoming all, especially those who are disadvantaged and giving everyone the opportunity understand, experience and respond to the Christian faith which inspires and motivates the school and opens up new horizons of hope.
  • Respect & Dignity: Building an environment in the school in which everyone is valued, recognising that each individual is made in the image of God and loved by him so that they can learn to relate positively to themselves, other people, the world around them and God.
  • Community & Living Well Together:  Giving children, staff and parents the opportunity to experience being part of a community which creates a strong sense of belonging based on Christian values and rooted in Christian beliefs and practices.

To access the Diocesan Board of Education Vision Leaflet please Click here.

To access the Central Church of England Vision for Education: Deeply Christian, Serving the Common Good click here

To access the leaflet “Building an effective relationship between a clergy person and a head teacher of a church school” please click here.


Small schools – Planning for the Future

Recognising the particular challenges facing small schools at this time in terms of viability and sustainability, the National Church of England Education Office has produced a new planning resource for small governing bodies and headteachers.

For the toolkit please click here.

For the supporting document please click here.

Useful links

Church of England Education Office
Department for Education
Nottinghamshire County Council
Nottingham City Council