Image Alt

About Us

In every part of the diocese, our priorities are to grow disciples WIDER in every community, connecting with YOUNGER generations, growing DEEPER roots of faith.  

Our Story

Founded in 1884, the diocese incorporates the whole of the County of Nottingham, with a parish also in South Yorkshire. There are two archdeaconries, Newark and Nottingham each with its own archdeacon. Our cathedral church is Southwell Minster, located in Southwell just 15 miles north east of Nottingham. Southwell is the home of the Diocesan Bishop and Diocesan Offices at Jubilee House. The diocese is also home to St Mellitus East Midlands Theological Training College, equipping future minsters to serve.
The Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham is a diverse community of distinctive parts
worshipping communities who are served by 231 parishes
serving clergy and ministers, with 50 more men and women in training
Church Schools and Academies with 20,000 pupils

We share a belief that God has a plan and purpose for everyone, and it all starts with Jesus; there is nothing better anyone can do with their life than to follow him. 

We warmly invite you to be part of our diocese.


Questions about Faith and Life? Or looking for a Church to connect with? Use the links below to find out more
 Our place within the Anglican Communion

The Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham is part of the worldwide Anglican Communion, and is part of the ancient See of York. It is bounded by Sheffield Diocese to the north, the Diocese of Derby to the west, the Diocese of Leicester to the South, and Lincoln to the East. We work closely with those of other faiths and of no faith, with Christians of all denominations, and with charities and organisations who share common values. The Diocese has a formal overseas link with the Dioceses of Natal.


Our accountabilities and responsibilities

We are a richly diverse organisation seeking to work together through mutual cooperation and consensus, polices and governance. The diocese is governed by many people at multiple levels including parish, deanery, area and diocesan level, and nationally. More information about leadership, governance and structures within the Church of England

Skip to content