General Synod 2021

Nominations are invited for representatives from the Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham to General Synod for the next five-year term 2021-2026.  

Information and details about standing for election to the General Synod for the next five-year term are available by visiting: 

This is an opportunity to represent the concerns of your community and our diocese at a national level by standing for election to General Synod, the legislative body of the Church of England. 

As a member of general Synod, you can have a say in national legislation that affects all parts of the Church of England. You can also raise issues and contribute to debates on social and policy matters. 

About General Synod

The General Synod has three House – Bishops, Clergy and Laity.  

Diocesan Bishops are automatically members of Synod by virtue of their office. In addition, each province of the Church of England elects two Suffragan Bishops from each Province.  

Each diocese is allocated a number of seats in the Houses of Clergy and Laity – the number of seats varies according to the size of each diocese.  

For clergy and laity, you will need two people from your category to nominate you to stand for Synod, i.e clergy will need two clergy people to nominate them, and lay candidates will require two members of a Deanery Synod in the diocese to nominate them.   

Further information can be found in Notes for the Guidance of Dioceses. 

Nominations opened on Friday 23 July and the closing date for nominations is Wednesday, 1 September 2021.   

Voting will open on Friday 17 September and close on Friday 8 October 2021. 

Please feel free to get in touch with any questions by mailing 

ost. Edit or detestlete it, then start writing!

Skip to content