Deanery Synods


Each deanery has its own Deanery Synod which consists of lay members and clergy.

Lay members are elected at Annual Parochial Church meetings and the clergy of the deanery meet under the joint chairmanship of the Area (Rural) Dean and the Lay Chair.

Members are elected for three years and address issues of concern to the church and community at the local level. Matters are sent to them from the Diocesan and the General Synods and resolutions passed can be sent up for discussion at the higher levels. Members are also the electors for the diocese and vote in the elections for Diocesan Synod and General Synod.

The last elections to Deanery Synods took place in 2020.

Skip to content